Educational Foundation

Scholarship Application

Please complete, print, sign and mail the application along with a photograph to:

1325 23rd St S
Suite A,
Fargo, ND 58103

Scholarship application must be received in our office by September 29, 2017

The North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation, a North Dakota corporation, was founded by the North Dakota Grain Dealers Association in 1980. Its purpose is to provide scholarships to students in agricultural curriculums at North Dakota institutions of higher learning, particularly for those students pursuing careers in grain marketing, agronomy and related agribusiness. It also provides equipment grants to certain academic programs. Since its inception the Foundation has provided close to $224,500 in scholarships and grants. The North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation expects to award up to eight $1,000 scholarships this year. Students must be majoring in one of the following curriculums:

Bismarck State College:

  • Agriculture Industry & Technology (Agronomy)
  • Agriculture Transfer

Bottineau - Dakota College of Bottineau:

  • Agriculture Transfer

Devils Lake - Lake Region State College:

  • Precision Agriculture

Dickinson State University:

  • Agricultural Studies - Business/Marketing, International Agri-Business or Soil Science
  • Agriculture Sales and Service - Agriculture Business Management or Technology in Agriculture
  • Agriculture Transfer

Valley City State University

  • Business Administration - Agribusiness Concentration

Wahpeton - North Dakota State College of Science:

  • Crop Production Sales and Technology
  • Agriculture Transfer

Williston State College:

  • Agriculture Business & Industry
  • Agriculture Transfer

Fargo - NDSU College of Agriculture, Food Systems and Natural Resources

  • Agribusiness & Applied Economics
    • Agricultural Economics, Agribusiness, Economics
  • Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering
    • Biosystems Engineering, Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Systems Management
  • Microbiological Sciences
  • Plant Pathology
  • Plant Sciences
    • Crop and Weed Sciences, Food Science, Horticulture, Biotechnology
  • Soil Science

Grants for instructional aids in these curriculums are also available. Grants have ranged from $200 to $1,200 per project.

Application deadline for scholarships and grant proposals is September 29, 2017. Applications can be downloaded using the link at the top of this page. For further information and/or applications contact Cheryal Welle ( at the NDGDA office.

North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation

1325 23rd St S, Suite A
Fargo, ND 58103-3823
Telephone: 701-235-4184
Fax: 701-235-1026

ND Grain Dealers Educational Foundation Board

Steve Hepper, Bismarck - President
Joe Peterson, Bowbells - Vice-President
Alex Richard, Casselton - Director
Elton Solseng, Fargo - Director
Steve Strege, Fargo - Director
Kenan Layden, Bismarck - Director
Stu Letcher, Fargo - Exec VP & Sec/Treas

The North Dakota Grain Dealers Educational Foundation has announced the names of its scholarship winners for the 2017-2018 academic year. The following eight students have each been awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Bismarck State College, Bismarck, ND

  • Kenzie Volochenko, Balfour, ND
    Agriculture Industry & Technology

Dickinson State University, Dickinson, ND

  • Trey Fischbach, Moorcroft, WY
    Agricultural Studies

North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, ND

  • Kendra Klosterman, Moorton, ND
    Agriculture Transfer

North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND

  • Mackenzie Derry, Thompson, ND
    Crop & Weed Sciences
  • Kody Durbin, Crary, ND
    Crop & Weed Sciences
  • Morgan Gallagher, Ashley, ND
  • MaKayla Heinz, Brocket, ND
    Crop & Weed Sciences
  • Jakob Schmid, Oberon, ND
    Agriculture Economics

Instructional Aid

$750 to the Agriculture Department at NDSCS for the purchase of sound equipment for teaching stations for three classrooms.

$750 to the School of Natural Resource Sciences at NDSU for the purchase of soil fertility test kit for soil analysis in the classroom.